Speaker 2013

Carlos A. Primo BragaEconomist, Director of the Evian Group@IMD

Latin America: has the future arrived ?

Swiss entrepreneur and diplomat Uli Sigg has assembled the most comprehensive collection of contemporary Chinese art worldwide. He began his collection in the 1990s and will donate a large part of it (almost 1,500 works) to the Museum of Visual Culture of Hong Kong. He first travelled to China in 1979 on behalf of Swiss firm Schindler to establish the first joint-venture between China and a foreign company. In the second half of the 1990s he was Swiss ambassador to China, North Korea and Mongolia. He is Vice Chairman of Ringier and a Member of the Advisory Boards of the China Development Bank, of the International Council of MoMA (NY), and of the International Advisory Council of the Tate Gallery (London).

Report : Latin America: has the future arrived ?

At the recent Forum organised by the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie at Lausanne’s IMD, Carlos A. Primo Braga focused on the current economic situation in Brazil and Argentina, in comparison with what is happening in Europe. One of the BRIC countries, Brazil has seen its middle classes expand progressively since 2003 and income inequality radically reduced. “As the third most unequal country in the world in 1989, Brazil has clearly improved its position since then. One of the principal reasons for this is that it couldn’t really have been doing worse,” he explains, not without a touch of humour.…

At the recent Forum organised by the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie at Lausanne’s IMD, Carlos A. Primo Braga focused on the current economic situation in Brazil and Argentina, in comparison with what is happening in Europe. One of the BRIC countries, Brazil has seen its middle classes expand progressively since 2003 and income inequality radically reduced. “As the third most unequal country in the world in 1989, Brazil has clearly improved its position since then. One of the principal reasons for this is that it couldn’t really have been doing worse,” he explains, not without a touch of humour. “The strong trend towards urbanisation is the central factor, characterised by an exodus of rural populations to towns and cities. Added to this, the birth rate has dropped to 1.8 children per woman today, down from 6 in 1996.”

Brazil nevertheless remains an economy that is far too inward-looking and relatively closed internationally, even if the country is, for example, China’s biggest agricultural trade partner. “As things stand, Brazil has sufficient infrastructure, but the fact remains that it was among the countries with the worst ratings in this area according to a global study carried out by Credit Suisse this year,” Carlos A. Primo Braga continues. “Brazil must do everything it can to attract investment to develop its infrastructure. The growth of society as whole depends on it.”

Carlos A. Primo Braga went on to talk about how the Argentine economy was fairing following the 2001 crisis and the end of the peso-dollar peg. There was an immediate impact on debt to GDP ratio, which skyrocketed. The good news is that, from 2003, this ratio had already started to decrease progressively, and has now stabilised at an average of 6% per year. This brings the economist to the question of whether Greece should follow suit and return to the drachma. Definitely not, is the answer. Argentina has benefited from a high demand for its raw materials, particularly from China. These are resources that Greece simply doesn’t have. For this reason it would be an extremely risky exercise, not to say a counterproductive one, if such a strategy were to be adopted by the cradle of democracy.

At the same time, Carlos A. Primo Braga was keen to stress that the austerity measures imposed on eurozone countries in difficulty are not enough to resolve the debt crisis. The social fatigue that such measures engender is a crucial element to factor in. So why not a debt restructuring to give a bit of breathing space to these economies that have been bled dry, and end the prospect of no future faced by younger generations.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2013

Carlos A. Primo BragaÉconomiste, directeur d’Evian Group@IMD

Amérique Latine : Déjà l’avenir ?

Carlos A. Primo Braga est professeur d’économie politique internationale à l’IMD et directeur d’Evian Group@IMD, une association internationale de dirigeants d’entreprise, de gouvernements et de leaders d’opinion, qui se donne pour mission d’encourager « une économie de marché internationale ouverte, globale, équitable et durable s’inscrivant dans un cadre multilatéral réglementé ». Ses domaines de spécialisation sont, entre autres, le commerce international, la gouvernance mondiale, l’interdépendance économique et l’économie du développement. Avant de rejoindre l’IMD en 2012, il a occupé des postes clés à la Banque Mondiale. Son intervention portera sur l’émergence de l’Amérique latine (il est lui même Brésilien) et sur la situation actuelle du continent.

Compte rendu : Amérique Latine : Déjà l’avenir ?

A l’occasion du récent Forum organisé par la Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie à l’IMD de Lausanne, Carlos A. Primo Braga s’est concentré sur l’actualité économique du Brésil, de l’Argentine, en comparaison de la situation européenne. Appartenant aux nations du BRIC, le Brésil a vu sa classe moyenne s’étoffer progressivement depuis 2003 et ses inégalités en termes de revenus décroître drastiquement. « En 1989, le Brésil était le troisième pays au monde le plus inégalitaire, une position qui, depuis, s’est nettement améliorée. L’une des premières raisons est que le Brésil aurait difficilement pu faire pire, explique-t-il non sans un pointe…

A l’occasion du récent Forum organisé par la Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie à l’IMD de Lausanne, Carlos A. Primo Braga s’est concentré sur l’actualité économique du Brésil, de l’Argentine, en comparaison de la situation européenne. Appartenant aux nations du BRIC, le Brésil a vu sa classe moyenne s’étoffer progressivement depuis 2003 et ses inégalités en termes de revenus décroître drastiquement. « En 1989, le Brésil était le troisième pays au monde le plus inégalitaire, une position qui, depuis, s’est nettement améliorée. L’une des premières raisons est que le Brésil aurait difficilement pu faire pire, explique-t-il non sans un pointe d’humour. Le facteur central repose sur une forte urbanisation marquée par un exode des populations campagnardes vers les villes. A cela s’ajoute une chute de la natalité qui se caractérise aujourd’hui par un taux de fertilité de 1,8 enfant par femme contre 6 en 1996. »

Néanmoins, le Brésil reste encore une économie par trop repliée sur elle-même et peu ouverte à l’international, même si le pays est par exemple le plus gros partenaire de la Chine en termes d’échanges agricoles. « S’il dispose d’infrastructures suffisantes pour le moment, il n’en reste pas moins parmi les plus mal notés en la matière selon une étude de cette année menée par Crédit Suisse au niveau mondial, poursuit Carlos A. Primo Braga. Le Brésil doit donc tout faire pour attirer les investissements dans le but de développer ses infrastructures. L’essor de la société dans son ensemble en dépend.»

Carlos A. Primo Braga a poursuivit sa présentation par la situation de l’économique argentine suite à la crise de 2001 et à la fin de la parité peso/dollar. Impact immédiat : le service de la dette a explosé en rapport au PIB du pays. Bonne nouvelle, ce taux a commencé à baisser progressivement dès 2003 déjà pour s’établir à une moyenne actuelle de 6% l’an. Dans ce contexte, la Grèce ne devrait-elle pas suivre le même exemple et revenir à la drachme, s’interroge l’économiste ? Certainement pas. L’Argentine a profité de la forte demande, de la Chine en particulier, en matières premières. Des ressources dont la Grèce ne bénéficie certainement pas. D’où un exercice extrêmement périlleux, voire contreproductif, si le berceau de la démocratie devait adopter une telle stratégie.

En parallèle, Carlos A. Primo Braga s’est plu à souligner que l’austérité imposée au pays en difficulté de la zone euro ne suffisait pas pour résoudre la crise de la dette. La fatigue sociale que de telles mesures provoquent est un élément essentiel à prendre en ligne de compte. Alors pourquoi pas une restructuration de la dette pour donner un peu d’air à ces économies exsangues. Question de gommer le « no future » dont souffrent les jeunes générations.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.