Speaker 2015

Enrico LettaDean of the Paris School of International Affairs at Sciences Po and former Prime Minister of Italy.

The state of Europe

Enrico Letta is the new Dean of the Paris School of International Affairs at Sciences Po. A member of the Democratic Party, he was Prime Minister of Italy in 2013-2014. As the head of a broad coalition government representing the main parties from centre-left to centre-right during a particularly difficult period for the country, his political action earned him respect and admiration. Over the past twenty years he has contributed in numerous ways to the construction of Europe. He recently published “Andare insieme, andare lontano” (“Going Together, Going Far”).

Keynote Speech on Video

“Faced with the rise of the BRICS […], only a united Europe will be able to maintain its rank”.

Report : The state of Europe

The issue of “more” or “less” Europe has found a sadly flagrant response in the recent tragic events that transpired in Paris. The shortcomings of the “Europe of defense” have been tragically highlighted, leading Enrico Letta to state that without a consolidated union, the European project has little chance of lasting. He calls for a Europe of 28 states – not necessarily forcing all its members to agree to the federal type of integration reserved for the euro zone, but a cohesive Europe with a strong core, capable of superseding the North/South divide on the economic level and the East/West…

The issue of “more” or “less” Europe has found a sadly flagrant response in the recent tragic events that transpired in Paris. The shortcomings of the “Europe of defense” have been tragically highlighted, leading Enrico Letta to state that without a consolidated union, the European project has little chance of lasting. He calls for a Europe of 28 states – not necessarily forcing all its members to agree to the federal type of integration reserved for the euro zone, but a cohesive Europe with a strong core, capable of superseding the North/South divide on the economic level and the East/West on the migrant issue. As Enrico Letta summed it up: “Faced with the rise of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) that will outweigh the old continent in the global economy as of next year, only a united Europe will be able to maintain its rank.”

“Having been accustomed for such a long time to experiencing lengthy periods of ‘normality’ merely punctuated by occasional obstacles to be ironed out, we are now finding ourselves facing a string of successive crises”, explained Enrico Letta, the first speaker at the 7th Forum de la Haute Horlogerie held on November 18th in Lausanne. “And when one comes to think of it, one also realizes that the very concept of time is now merely that of a present that gradually broadens out – a kind of ‘presentism’ that erases any notion of past and future and calls for real-time decision-making. And I personally don’t like presentism.”

Such was the context outlined by the former Prime Minister of Italy – a context in which Europe is experiencing a terrorist crisis that has hit France head-on. “Faced with this apparently deadlocked situation for which we have no answers, but only improved scenarios, the question of ‘more or less Europe’ is once again rearing its head”, he continued. “This question is entirely justified and the present situation would call for distinctly more Europe. Security services tend to work alone without necessarily sharing vital information and that is indeed one of the causes behind the recent events. These days security is still being dealt with on a national level, whereas terrorism has definitely gone global!”

Collective responses

Among the potential scenarios mentioned by Enrico Letta, there is that of a France isolated from the rest of the world and determined to respond by intensive strikes on Islamic state strongholds: such a scenario would lead to the crumbling of the collective vision of Europe. Or there is that of a fortress-style Europe attempting to stem the influx of refugees considered to be ticking time bombs. “These two scenarios are plausible”, warned Enrico Letta. “Especially since decisions will have to be taken fast. We’re not going to just sit around and wait for a new attack before reacting. But at the very moment when Europe appears to be at last emerging from the 2008 subprime crisis, it is confronted with two divides: a first one along the North/South axis for the economic reasons of which we are all aware; and another along the East/West axis that has arisen this year on the Russian issue and the response to refugees. That’s the new situation in 2015: two divides at once. If Europe does not succeeded in overcoming its divergences to build a strong center, it will find itself scattered in all directions.”

This strong Europe that Enrico Letta wishes to see taking shape is also justified on the macro-economic level, and the dean of the Paris School of International Affairs at Sciences Po noted that a new balance of forces is emerging. Over the past 20 years, the weight of the West – comprising Europe and the United States – within the global economy has dropped from 45% to 32%, whereas that of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) has almost doubled during the same period. In 2016, these countries with a 33% share will have overtaken the West. Enrico Letta challenged the audience with the question: “Without a united Europe, what message can we convey to the Indians and the Chinese? The world is changing and Europe will only be able to play a role within it by presenting a united front. That does not mean that European integration must be pushed to its extreme limits. We know very well that the British do not want that. The European Union can run perfectly well with 28 nations operating around a smaller core group comprising the countries of the Euro zone grouped within a federal entity. To sum up, and in light of the terrorist attacks on Paris, I hope with all my heart that European countries fully understand that solidarity with France is not a matter of protocol. We are all under attack; our way of living is under attack. The response must be both strong and collective.”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2015

Enrico LettaDoyen de l’École des affaires internationales de Sciences-Po Paris et ancien Premier Ministre italien.

L'état de l'Europe

Enrico Letta est le nouveau doyen de l’École des affaires internationales de Sciences-Po Paris. Membre du Parti démocratique, il occupe le poste de Premier Ministre de la République italienne entre 2013 et 2014. À la tête d’un gouvernement de grande coalition réunissant les principaux partis allant du centre gauche au centre droite dans une période particulièrement difficile pour le pays, il s’est gagné respect et admiration pour le sérieux de son action politique. Depuis 20 ans, il a contribué de multiples manières à l’effort de construction européenne. Son dernier livre : Andare insieme, andare lontano (Aller ensemble pour aller loin).

Conférence en vidéo

« Face à la montée en puissance des Brics […], seule une Europe unie pourra maintenir son rang ».

Compte rendu : L'état de l'Europe

La question du plus ou moins d’Europe a trouvé une réponse aussi triste que flagrante avec les événements tragiques de Paris. Les lacunes d’une Europe de la défense sont en effet apparues au grand jour, faisant dire à Enrico Letta que sans une union plus poussée, le projet européen n’a guère de chance de perdurer. Une Europe à 28 ne forçant certes pas tous ses membres à une intégration fédérale réservée à la zone euro mais à une Europe soudée, dotée d’un centre fort, apte à dépasser les clivages nord-sud sur le plan économique et est-ouest sur la question des…

La question du plus ou moins d’Europe a trouvé une réponse aussi triste que flagrante avec les événements tragiques de Paris. Les lacunes d’une Europe de la défense sont en effet apparues au grand jour, faisant dire à Enrico Letta que sans une union plus poussée, le projet européen n’a guère de chance de perdurer. Une Europe à 28 ne forçant certes pas tous ses membres à une intégration fédérale réservée à la zone euro mais à une Europe soudée, dotée d’un centre fort, apte à dépasser les clivages nord-sud sur le plan économique et est-ouest sur la question des migrants. Enrico Letta : « Face à la montée en puissance des Brics (Brésil, Russie, Inde, Chine et Afrique du Sud) qui, l’an prochain, pèseront davantage dans l’économie mondiale que le Vieux continent, seule une Europe unie pourra maintenir son rang ».

« Si nous avons pendant longtemps été habitués à vivre de longues périodes de “normalité”, seulement entrecoupées d’obstacles épisodiques à aplanir, de nos jours, nous sommes confrontés à des crises qui se succèdent les unes aux autres, exposait Enrico Letta, premier orateur lors du 7e Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, tenu le 18 novembre à Lausanne. Et si l’on y réfléchit bien, on se rend compte également que le concept même du temps n’est plus aujourd’hui qu’un temps présent qui s’élargit, un présentisme, pourrait-on dire, qui gomme toute notion de passé et d’avenir et demande des prises de décision en temps réel. Et je n’aime pas le présentisme.»

Tel est le contexte posé par l’ancien Premier Ministre italien, un contexte dans lequel l’Europe est en train de vivre la crise d’un terrorisme qui vient de frapper la France de plein fouet. « Face à cette situation de blocage apparent pour laquelle nous n’avons aucune réponse, seulement des scénarios improvisés, se pose de nouveau la question du plus ou moins d’Europe, poursuivait-il. Une interrogation tout à fait justifiée qui demanderait dans le cas présent nettement plus d’Europe. Les services de sécurité travaillent en solo sans forcément partager les informations cruciales. C’est d’ailleurs l’une des causes des récents événements. À l’heure actuelle, on pense la sûreté au niveau national alors que le terrorisme est devenu global ! ».

Réponses collectives

Parmi les scénarios évoqués par Enrico Letta, il y a celui d’une France isolée et déterminée à riposter par des frappes intensives sur les fiefs de l’État islamique. Un scénario synonyme d’un éclatement de l’idée collective de l’Europe. Ou encore celui d’une Europe forteresse qui tient à distance le flux de réfugiés considérés comme des bombes à retardement. « Ces deux scénarios sont plausibles, avertissait Enrico Letta. D’autant plus qu’il faut se décider rapidement. Nous n’allons pas attendre une nouvelle attaque pour réagir. Mais au moment même où l’Europe semble sortir de la crise des subprimes de 2008, elle fait face à deux clivages : le premier, nord/sud, pour les raisons économiques que l’on sait, et le second, est/ouest, apparu cette année sur la question russe et celle des migrants. Telle est la nouvelle donne de 2015 : deux clivages en même temps. Or si l’Europe ne réussit pas à dépasser ces divergences pour construire un centre fort, elle va s’éparpiller. »

Cette Europe forte souhaitée par Enrico Letta se justifie également sur le plan macroéconomique. Et le doyen de l’École des affaires internationales de Science-Po Paris de relever un nouvel équilibre des forces en train d’éclore. En une vingtaine d’années, le poids de l’Occident, comprenant l’Europe et les États-Unis, dans l’économie mondiale est passé de 45 % à 32 %, alors que celui des Brics (Brésil, Russie, Inde, Chine et Afrique du Sud) a pratiquement doublé durant la même période. En 2016, avec 33 %, ces pays auront dépassé l’Occident. « Sans une Europe unie, quel pourra être notre message face aux Indiens et aux Chinois ? plaidait Enrico Letta. Le monde est en train de changer, et si l’Europe veut y jouer un rôle, elle ne pourra le faire qu’unie. Ce qui ne veut pas dire que l’intégration européenne doit être poussée à ses extrêmes limites. Nous savons très bien que les Britanniques n’en veulent pas. L’Union européenne peut très bien fonctionner à 28 avec, en son sein, un cercle plus restreint comprenant les pays de la zone euro regroupés en une entité fédérale. Pour résumer et compte tenu des attaques terroristes à Paris, j’espère de tout cœur que les pays européens comprennent bien que la solidarité avec la France n’est pas qu’une question protocolaire. Nous sommes tous attaqués, notre mode de vie est attaqué. La réponse doit être forte et collective. » .

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.