Speaker 2016

Hubert VédrineFormer French Minister of Foreign Affairs

World report, Europe

Diplomatic advisor to and spokesperson for President François Mitterrand, then Minister of Foreign Affairs under President Jacques Chirac, Hubert Védrine is an expert on geopolitical realities. In his memoirs, Jacques Chirac recalls his “complete command of the workings of diplomacy, a man who stands by his convictions while keeping an open mind that eschews all forms of dogmatism”. Hubert Védrine is the author of numerous works. In his most recent, Le Monde au défi, he analyses the current “irrealpolitik” and democratic disengagement, and points to geo-ecology, a universal ecological awareness, as a means of planning the future. He is chairman of Institut François Mitterrand.

Keynote Speech on Video

“Ecologicalisation, like industrialisation in the nineteenth century, could drive the global economy for the next twenty years.”

Report : World report, Europe

The European Union has become a self-sustaining system, cut off from its roots. A former French Foreign Minister, Hubert Védrine came to the 8th Forum de la Haute Horlogerie to explain why this could drive its citizens to insurrection. “The citizens of Europe feel they have been abandoned, duped. Globalisation has made the rich richer. The middle classes have been ignored.” Hubert Védrine’s message could not be clearer: in Europe as in the United States, for too long the elites have nurtured a system that is disconnected from reality. In his most recent book, Sauver l’Europe, he points to how…

The European Union has become a self-sustaining system, cut off from its roots. A former French Foreign Minister, Hubert Védrine came to the 8th Forum de la Haute Horlogerie to explain why this could drive its citizens to insurrection.

“The citizens of Europe feel they have been abandoned, duped. Globalisation has made the rich richer. The middle classes have been ignored.” Hubert Védrine’s message could not be clearer: in Europe as in the United States, for too long the elites have nurtured a system that is disconnected from reality. In his most recent book, Sauver l’Europe, he points to how the European Union has lost its course, politically and administratively. These were the abnormalities he described at the 8th Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, held November 9th at IMD in Lausanne.

This former spokesman for François Mitterrand and Minister for Foreign Affairs under Jacques Chirac began his presentation in no uncertain terms: “There is a genuine problem that people feel disengaged from Europe.” Add the anti-Europeans to the Eurosceptics, people who feel let down by Europe and others who are simply allergic to rules, and you reach 80% of the population. As for those who would like to replace the current union with a federal organisation in which member states retain certain prerogatives, the diplomat had this to say: “At barely 1%, in electoral terms the federalists don’t exist!”

On the verge of insurrection

Hubert Védrine lays the blame for this anti-European climate with the arrogance of the ruling elite: “After each hostile vote, the system continues as though nothing had happened! When the citizens of Europe speak of identity, security and sovereignty, these aren’t dirty words. They are legitimate concerns and must be taken into consideration.” If the EU is unable to give its institutions renewed legitimacy and set itself credible political objectives, Védrine predicts a fatal outcome: “We are on the verge of insurrection.”

He disagrees with those who, like European Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs Pierre Moscovici, believe Europe must produce more results: “What would be the point of a complex contraption that works better?” He advocates surgical operations to redefine the role of the European Commission which, he believes, has gone completely off-track: “Saving water is a good thing. But once the Commission has made a decision, European experts spontaneously start throwing out regulations on shower heads. One only need read the Chocolate directive to realise how absurd the situation has become. It’s high time Europe stopped ruling on the shape and size of cucumbers! Even Jean-Claude Juncker agrees.”

“Ecologicalisation” on the rise

It takes structured forces to combat a self-sustaining system, and as Hubert Védrine noted in his speech, there is no international community capable of carrying such a project, with the possible exception of environmental questions which have elicited a more organised response from the alter-globalisation movement. “And even then, Europe Ecology – The Greens have completely missed their target!” Védrine forecasts that “ecologicalisation”, like industrialisation before it, has the potential to develop quickly and drive the economy for 20 or 30 years.

Such predictions naturally imply new policies. An opportunity for Europe to stand up to the emergence of “ecological rogue states”, which could soon include America. With this is mind, and so as not to be caught napping, Hubert Védrine urges Europe’s institutions “not to delay organisation of a summit on Donald Trump’s presidency, in order to have a closer understanding of who he is. Europeans must organise themselves and be ready to work with the new American administration on an equal footing.”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2016

Hubert VédrineAncien Ministre des Affaires étrangères français

État du monde, L’Europe

Ancien conseiller et porte-parole du président français François Mitterrand, puis ministre des Affaires étrangères du président Jacques Chirac, Hubert Védrine est un n connaisseur des réalités géopolitiques. Dans ses Mémoires, Jacques Chirac lui attribue « une parfaite maîtrise des rouages diplomatiques, la délité à des convictions af rmées en même temps qu’une ouverture d’esprit à rebours de tout esprit dogmatique ». Auteur de très nombreux ouvrages, il analyse dans son dernier livre, Le Monde au dé , l’«irrealpolitik» actuelle et le décrochage démocratique, non sans insister sur les notions de «géo-écologie» et donc de conscience écologique comme outils de plani cation du futur. Il préside égale- ment l’Institut François-Mitterrand.

Conférence en vidéo

« L’écologisation, comme l’industrialisation au XIXe siècle, est un mouvement susceptible de porter l’économie mondiale sur les vingt prochaines années. »

Compte rendu : État du monde, L’Europe

L’Union européenne est devenue un système autoentretenu et complètement coupé de sa base. Une situation qui fait craindre à Hubert Védrine des réactions insurrectionnelles. L’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères sous Chirac est venu s’en expliquer au 8e Forum de la Haute Horlogerie. « Les peuples se sentent abandonnés, trompés. La mondialisation n’a fait qu’enrichir les nantis. On n’a pas fait attention aux classes moyennes. » Le constat d’Hubert Védrine est sans appel : en Europe comme aux États-Unis, les élites ont trop longtemps nourri un système déconnecté des réalités. Dans son dernier livre, Sauver l’Europe, l’ancien porte-parole de François Mitterrand…

L’Union européenne est devenue un système autoentretenu et complètement coupé de sa base. Une situation qui fait craindre à Hubert Védrine des réactions insurrectionnelles. L’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères sous Chirac est venu s’en expliquer au 8e Forum de la Haute Horlogerie.

« Les peuples se sentent abandonnés, trompés. La mondialisation n’a fait qu’enrichir les nantis. On n’a pas fait attention aux classes moyennes. » Le constat d’Hubert Védrine est sans appel : en Europe comme aux États-Unis, les élites ont trop longtemps nourri un système déconnecté des réalités. Dans son dernier livre, Sauver l’Europe, l’ancien porte-parole de François Mitterrand et ministre des Affaires étrangères sous Jacques Chirac met le doigt sur les dérives politiques et administratives de l’Union européenne. Des anormalités qu’il a exposées lors du 8e Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, le 9 novembre dernier à l’IMD de Lausanne.

« En Europe, il y a un vrai problème de décrochage des peuples », souligne d’emblée Hubert Védrine. Si l’on additionne les anti-européens, les sceptiques, les déçus et les allergiques aux réglementations, on arrive en effet à 80 % de la population. Et à ceux qui opposent à la situation actuelle une organisation fédéraliste qui permettrait aux États de conserver un certain nombre de prérogatives, le diplomate répond : « Les fédéralistes n’existent pas électoralement, à peine 1 % ! »

Proche de l’insurrection

Ce climat contestataire, l’ancien membre du gouvernement français l’explique par l’arrogance des élites : « Après chaque vote hostile, le système continue comme si de rien n’était! Quand le peuple parle d’identité, de sécurité et de souveraineté, ce n’est pas quelque chose d’affreux. C’est au contraire légitime et il faut en tenir compte ! » À défaut, si l’Union ne parvient pas à donner une nouvelle légitimité à ses institutions, à se fixer des objectifs politiques crédibles, Hubert Védrine prédit une issue fatale : « Nous sommes au bord de réactions insurrectionnelles. »

Et ceux qui pensent, avec l’ancien ministre de l’Économie et des Finances Pierre Moscovici, que l’Europe doit produire plus de résultats, l’ancien ministre des Affaires étrangères répond que cela ne suffira pas : « Cela ne sert à rien de vouloir une usine à gaz qui fonctionne mieux ! » Ce qu’il prône, ce sont au contraire des opérations chirurgicales, de manière à redéfinir le rôle de la Commission européenne, qui, selon lui, se fourvoie complètement : « Vouloir économiser l’eau, c’est très bien. Mais une fois la décision prise par la Commission, et sans que l’on ait rien demandé à personne, les experts européens s’empressent de réglementer sur le débit des pommeaux de douche. Cette surenchère est absurde ! Il suffit de lire la directive “Chocolat” pour s’en rendre compte. Il est grand temps d’arrêter de légiférer sur la taille des concombres. Même Jean-Claude Juncker le reconnaît. »

L’écologisation en marche

Mais pour lutter contre un système qui se nourrit de lui-même, encore faut-il des forces structurées. Or, il n’existe pas de communauté internationale des peuples qui serait porteuse d’un projet, constate Hubert Védrine. Sauf peut-être sur la question écologique autour de laquelle les altermondialistes ont su un tant soit peu s’organiser. « Mais là encore Europe Écologie – Les Verts a complètement raté son coup ! » poursuit Hubert Védrine. Et de prédire que l’« écologisation », comme avant elle l’industrialisation, est un mouvement susceptible de se développer rapidement et de porter l’économie sur 20 à 30 ans.

De telles projections appellent naturellement des politiques nouvelles. Une opportunité pour l’Europe de s’affirmer enfin face à l’émergence d’« États écologiquement voyous », au rang desquels l’Amérique pourrait bientôt compter. Dans cet ordre d’idées et pour ne pas se faire prendre au dépourvu, le diplomate français conseille aux instances européennes de « ne pas trop attendre pour organiser un sommet sur la présidence de Donald Trump, de manière à mieux cerner le personnage. Les Européens doivent s’organiser, réfléchir, de manière à parler avec la nouvelle administration américaine sur un pied d’égalité ».

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.