Speaker 2015

Michael GreenEconomist and expert on social progress, author of several books on the future of capitalism.

How to measure progress

Economist Michael Green is the Executive director of the Social Progress Index (SPI) and the author of several books on the future of capitalism. Green’s organization focuses on redefining the way we quantify progress in the world, measuring society across dimensions and indicators that actually matter: basic human needs, foundations of wellbeing, and opportunity. The SPI is an effort to complement the measure of national performance using only traditional economic measures such as GDP, and has been adopted widely around the world since its launch two years ago. Previously, Green worked for the UK Government and taught economics.

Keynote Speech on Video

“Investing in the wellbeing of a population can be an economic growth driver”.

Report : How to measure progress

If there is one indicator considered an absolute benchmark in the economic field, that would definitely be the GDP that first emerged in 1934 in the United States and has served ever since as a measure of nations’ performance. Today, the very concept of GDP is being called into question for the simple reason that it omits to take account of the notion of social wellbeing, a factor that should in fact be enhanced as a consequence of the creation of wealth. This stance is advocated by Michael Green who has developed his own “tool”, the Social Progress Index. Now…

If there is one indicator considered an absolute benchmark in the economic field, that would definitely be the GDP that first emerged in 1934 in the United States and has served ever since as a measure of nations’ performance. Today, the very concept of GDP is being called into question for the simple reason that it omits to take account of the notion of social wellbeing, a factor that should in fact be enhanced as a consequence of the creation of wealth. This stance is advocated by Michael Green who has developed his own “tool”, the Social Progress Index. Now preferred by many countries as a complement to the GDP and based on 52 indicators, the SPI for example no longer merely considers the health expenditure of a given economy, but instead the life expectancy of its population: an iconoclastic and very welcome approach.

Is there life after – and beyond – Gross Domestic Product? That is in substance the question asked by the economist Michael Green in turning the spotlight on a very new index whose relevance is bound to strike all those who examine it: the Social Progress Index (SPI). Currently at the head of the Social Progress Imperative, an organization tasked with developing this index launched in 2013, Michael Green explained to participants at the Forum de la Haute Horlogerie some of the reasons that make it an inescapable new measure of society.

First, he took a brief look back to the 1930s, when the economist Simon Kuznets published a tiny book that would change our way of looking at the world. This study, titled National Income 1929-32, was certainly not in his mind intended to become a benchmark for economic growth, but rather a means of helping governments manage their economies. Managing rather than measuring was the advice of the economist who was careful to issue this warning: “The welfare of a nation can, therefore, scarcely be inferred from a measurement of national income as defined above.” It turns out that nobody listened to this warning and that GDP has become the measure of economic growth and, by extension, of a country’s success.

But is GDP really the most relevant means of measuring the progress – and thus the welfare – of a nation? Many groups have addressed this topic in recent years, while putting forward a number of alternative measures. The question has in fact become rhetorical and the obvious answer is “no”. So all that remained was to find a new way of looking at things, far removed from the pure maths of GDP which, as Michael Green noted “counts new bombs and more prisons as progress”. A social progress index therefore needed to be envisaged, an indicator that would take account solely of environmental and social data. Given this characteristic, the SPI was clearly intended to be different from other indicators such as the UN’s Human Development Index (HDI) or Bhutan’s Gross National Happiness (GNH). According to Michael Green, another key element underpinning the creation of the SPI was the fact that “the index is grounded on the idea that what we measure directs the choices we make”. In addition, the initiators of the project chose to base the index on actual results rather than evaluating States’ efforts because, as the economist explained, “there is for example not necessarily any correlation between health expenditure and the quality of health care. That’s why measuring expenditure does not always make sense. Results are often more significant.”

A myth crumbles

This new index capable of revealing another measure of States’ reality is calculated according to three fundamental concepts: basic human needs (nutrition, access to water, basic medical care, shelter…); the foundations of wellbeing (access to knowledge, to information, to health…) and opportunities for fulfillment (personal rights, freedom of choice, access to advanced education, tolerance…).

So far, 133 countries have been examined on the basis of this new index and the findings are highly instructive. Norway heads the rankings, followed by Sweden, Switzerland, Iceland and New Zealand, while right down at the bottom of the table are Afghanistan, Chad and the Central African Republic. But above and beyond this ranking, which already provides a valuable picture of the social reality of a given state, the SPI is all the more noteworthy when compared with other economic indicators. In making such comparisons, one discovers that the SPI level does not correlate to the wealth of a nation – witness New Zealand whose measured level of social progress is equivalent to that of Norway despite an almost two times lower GDP. Conversely, Russia, China and India do not transform all their wealth into wellbeing, whereas Rwanda, Costa Rica and New Zealand all show SPI results far higher than their respective economic situations might lead one to imagine.

The other major finding revealed by the SPI is that beyond a certain threshold, once basic needs have been satisfied, there is no correlation between economic growth and social progress. In other words, each additional GDP dollar only marginally contributes to social wellbeing. To the point that several studies have shown that the world per capita GDP could rise from 14,000 to 23,000 dollars by 2030, yet the mean global SPI is expected to show only very modest growth during the same period, rising, from 61 to… 62.4! That is exactly why advocates of the SPI are encouraging all States to think differently and to direct their policies towards more social progress. And Michael Green wrapped up his talk with this conclusion: “Investing in the wellbeing of a population can be an economic growth driver. The SPI shatters the myth which holds that economic activity creates growth and that everything related to social progress costs money.”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2015

Michael GreenÉconomiste et spécialiste du progrès social, auteur de plusieurs livres sur l’avenir du capitalisme.

Comment mesurer le progrès

L’économiste Michael Green est directeur du Social Progress Index (SPI). Il est aussi l’auteur de plusieurs livres sur l’avenir du capitalisme. Son organisation cherche à redéfinir la façon dont nous quantifions le progrès dans le monde en tenant compte d’indicateurs à dimension sociale comme les besoins humains fondamentaux ou la notion de « bien-être ». Le SPI constitue un effort pour compléter les mesures de performance nationale basées sur les index économiques classiques tels que le PIB. Il a été largement adopté dans le monde entier depuis son lancement il y a deux ans. Auparavant, Michael Green a enseigné l’économie et travaillé pour le gouvernement britannique.

Conférence en vidéo

« Investir dans le bien-être d’une population peut être un moteur de croissance économique ».

Compte rendu : Comment mesurer le progrès

S’il est un indicateur considéré comme une référence absolue dans le domaine économique, c’est bien le Produit Intérieur Brut (PIB) apparu en 1934 aux Etats-Unis, qui aura servi depuis à mesurer la performance des nations. Or aujourd’hui, le concept même de PIB est remis en question pour la simple raison qu’il omet de prendre en compte la notion de bien être social dont l’amélioration devrait être l’une des conséquences de la création de richesses. Cette thèse est défendue par Michael Green qui, de ce fait, a développé son propre « outil », le Social Progress Index (SPI) aujourd’hui préféré par…

S’il est un indicateur considéré comme une référence absolue dans le domaine économique, c’est bien le Produit Intérieur Brut (PIB) apparu en 1934 aux Etats-Unis, qui aura servi depuis à mesurer la performance des nations. Or aujourd’hui, le concept même de PIB est remis en question pour la simple raison qu’il omet de prendre en compte la notion de bien être social dont l’amélioration devrait être l’une des conséquences de la création de richesses. Cette thèse est défendue par Michael Green qui, de ce fait, a développé son propre « outil », le Social Progress Index (SPI) aujourd’hui préféré par nombre de pays en complément du PIB. Basé sur 52 indicateurs, le SPI va ainsi prendre en compte, par exemple, non plus les dépenses de santé d’une économie donnée mais l’espérance de vie et le bien-être de sa population. Une approche iconoclaste bienvenue.

Y a-t-il une vie après le produit intérieur brut ? C’est en substance la question que pose l’économiste Michael Green, en braquant les projecteurs sur un très jeune indice dont la pertinence ne devrait échapper à personne : le Social Progress Index (SPI). À la tête du Social Progress Imperative, organisme chargé de développer cet indice lancé en 2013, Michael Green a dévoilé au Forum de la Haute Horlogerie les quelques raisons qui le rendent incontournable.

Léger retour en arrière. Dans les années 1930, l’économiste Simon Kuznets publie un petit opuscule qui changera la manière de voir le monde. Son étude, National Income 1929-32, n’a, dans son esprit aucune vocation à devenir un standard de mesure de la croissance économique, mais doit aider les gouvernants à gérer leurs économies. Gérer et non mesurer, préconisait l’économiste en prenant bien soin de lancer cet avertissement : « Le bien-être d’une nation ne peut être déterminé uniquement par une mesure du revenu national tel que défini (dans mon étude). » Qu’à cela ne tienne, personne n’a écouté cet avertissement et le PIB est devenu le standard de mesure de la croissance économique et, par extension, du succès d’un pays.

Mais le PIB est-il réellement la manière la plus pertinente de mesurer les avancées – donc le bien-être – d’une nation ? De nombreux groupes se sont interrogés à ce sujet ces dernières années, en proposant un nombre de mesures alternatives. Poser la question, c’était déjà y répondre ? Non. Ne restait plus qu’à trouver une nouvelle manière d’envisager les choses, loin de la mathématique du PIB qui, comme le relevait Michael Green, « prend pour progrès comptant de nouvelles bombes ou davantage de prisons ». C’est donc un indice de progrès social qui devait être envisagé, un indicateur qui prenne en compte exclusivement des données environnementales et sociales. Eu égard à cette caractéristique, le SPI entendait se distinguer d’autres indicateurs tels l’indice de développement humain (IDH) de l’Onu ou le bonheur national brut (BNB) du Bhoutan. Autre élément clé qui a sous-tendu la création du SPI selon Michael Green : « L’indice repose sur l’idée que ce que nous mesurons oriente les choix que nous faisons. » Au surplus, les initiateurs du projet ont choisi de baser l’indice sur des résultats plutôt que sur l’évaluation des efforts des États, car, expliquait l’économiste, « il n’existe pas nécessairement de corrélation entre les dépenses de santé et la qualité de la santé, par exemple. C’est pourquoi mesurer les dépenses ne fait pas toujours sens. Les résultats sont souvent plus parlants »..

Un mythe s’effondre

Le calcul de ce nouvel indice apte à révéler une autre mesure de la réalité des États repose sur trois notions fondamentales : les besoins humains de base (nutrition, accès à l’eau, soins de base, logement…), les fondements du bien-être (accès à la connaissance, à l’information, à la santé…) et les opportunités d’accomplissement (droits personnels, liberté de choix, accès à l’éducation supérieure, tolérance…). À ce jour, 133 pays ont été passés au crible de ce nouvel indice et les enseignements sont nombreux. La Norvège arrive en tête, suivie de la Suède, la Suisse, l’Islande et la Nouvelle-Zélande. L’Afghanistan, le Tchad et la République centrafricaine ferment la marche. Au-delà de ce classement, qui offre déjà une image intéressante de la réalité sociale d’un État, le SPI est d’autant plus digne d’intérêt lorsqu’il est comparé à d’autres indicateurs économiques. Ainsi, on découvre que le niveau de SPI n’est pas corrélé avec la richesse d’une nation, à l’exemple de la Nouvelle-Zélande, dont le niveau de progrès social mesuré égale pratiquement celui de la Norvège en dépit d’un PIB pratiquement deux fois inférieur. À l’inverse, la Russie, la Chine ou l’Inde ne transforment pas toutes leurs richesses en bien-être. A contrario, le Rwanda, le Costa Rica ou la Nouvelle-Zélande présentent des SPI largement supérieurs à ce que leurs situations économiques respectives pourraient laisser penser.

L’autre enseignement majeur que révèle le SPI est que, au-delà d’un certain seuil, une fois satisfaits les besoins de base, il n’y a pas de corrélation entre croissance économique et progrès social. Autrement dit chaque dollar de PIB supplémentaire ne bénéficie qu’à la marge au bien-être social. Au point que diverses études ont montré que le PIB mondial par habitant pourrait passer de 14 000 à 23 000 dollars d’ici 2030, mais que le SPI mondial moyen ne croîtrait que fort modérément dans le même temps, passant de 61 à… 62,4 ! C’est pourquoi les promoteurs du SPI encouragent tous les États à réfléchir autrement et à infléchir leurs politiques vers davantage de progrès social. Et Michael Green de lancer en conclusion : « Investir dans le bien-être d’une population peut être un moteur de croissance économique. Le SPI casse le mythe selon lequel l’activité économique crée de la croissance et que tout ce qui est lié au social coûte de l’argent. ».

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.