Speaker 2013

Pascal BroulisState Councillor, Vaud

So where does this leave switzerland ?

Pascal Broulis has held a seat on the State Council for the canton of Vaud since 2002, and was its President between 2007 and 2012. He heads the canton’s Department of Finance and External Relations and, with government colleagues, has consolidated public finances (some of the most solid in Switzerland) and led an economic policy which has helped transform the Arc Lémanique into one of Europe’s most dynamic regions. His political action is rooted in the conviction that “without prosperity, nothing can be achieved” and that political forces must work together. A member of the liberal-radical party, since 2010 he has presided the Swiss cantonal governments conference.

Report : So where does this leave switzerland ?

Switzerland is an island of prosperity, with the canton of Vaud at the height of a golden age. What’s the recipe for this success? In State Councillor Pascal Broulis’s opinion, the area has some particular and revealing features that come together to create a winning formula: “We have a number of ‘hautes écoles’ (Swiss universities) of outstanding quality that make up the fabric of the region. Also, the legislative framework offers a stability attractive to entrepreneurs. In this context, the tax system is certainly an element to take into consideration, but it’s at the bottom of the list when it…

Switzerland is an island of prosperity, with the canton of Vaud at the height of a golden age. What’s the recipe for this success? In State Councillor Pascal Broulis’s opinion, the area has some particular and revealing features that come together to create a winning formula: “We have a number of ‘hautes écoles’ (Swiss universities) of outstanding quality that make up the fabric of the region. Also, the legislative framework offers a stability attractive to entrepreneurs. In this context, the tax system is certainly an element to take into consideration, but it’s at the bottom of the list when it comes to interesting companies in setting up in the canton.”

Openness is a key word for Pascal Broulis, by which he means openness to a changing world as much as openness within the country itself. “To fuel its competitiveness, Switzerland has 26 cantonal ‘laboratories,’” he continues. “This in no way indicates a retreat into local particularisms, quite the contrary. As far as the Arc Lémanique is concerned, we are deeply involved in a regional dynamic that goes far beyond cantonal boundaries and showcases the best of what each area has to offer. Yes, we do occasionally see organisations and companies relocate, sometimes only a matter of kilometres, but this doesn’t adversely affect the opportunities that we are ready to seize and that are available to us, even in times of crisis. And besides, Switzerland is duty-bound to remain open. I would remind you that of a population of 8 million, 1.4 million Europeans have chosen to make Switzerland their home, and 200,000 people living just over the border come to work in the country every day.”

On the question of European integration, Pascal Broulis remains firmly of the opinion that the bilateral position adopted by Switzerland is, for the moment, the only solution. “It would be unrealistic to think that the Swiss people would accept full and total integration into a Europe that’s still being built, where instability is a fact of life and inequality conspicuous. A single example sums it up: Luxembourg produces six times as much wealth as Bulgaria. Twenty or so years ago, different issues were at stake, but today I can foresee no circumstances that would be conducive to such a step. That’s not to say that Switzerland will always remain on the periphery, but change must happen gradually, and the European Union has a clear understanding of Switzerland’s position.”

Small and competitive, Switzerland has largely escaped the financial crisis that has rocked the planet since 2008. For Pascal Broulis, the country presents a model that could have a wider influence, but it’s a model that should not remain separate and isolated. “Inspiration must come from the outside, too,” he concludes. “The words Switzerland and globalisation do not contradict each other and our commercial activities abroad serve to emphasise this.”

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2013

Pascal BroulisConseiller d’État, Vaud

Et la Suisse dans tout cela ?

Pascal Broulis est depuis 2002 membre du Conseil d’État du canton de Vaud. Il en a été de 2007 à 2012 le président. Il dirige le Département des finances et des relations extérieures, et avec ses collègues de gouvernement, il a été l’artisan de l’assainissement des finances publiques (parmi les plus solides de Suisse) et d’une politique d’encouragement économique qui a contribué à transformer l’Arc lémanique en une des régions les plus dynamiques d’Europe. Il base son action politique sur la certitude que « sans prospérité, rien n’est possible » et sur une approche de rassembleur et de dialogue avec toutes les forces politiques. Membre du Parti libéral-radical, il est également président depuis 2010 de la Conférence des gouvernements cantonaux suisses.

Compte rendu : Et la Suisse dans tout cela ?

La Suisse, îlot de prospérité ; le canton de Vaud en plein âge d’or. Quelles sont les recettes du succès ? Pour le Conseiller d’Etat Pascal Broulis, la formule tient en une conjonction de spécificités révélatrices : « Nous disposons dans la région d’un tissu de hautes écoles de grande qualité. De plus, le contexte législatif offre une stabilité à laquelle les entrepreneurs sont extrêmement sensibles. Dans ce contexte, la fiscalité est certes un élément à prendre en ligne de compte mais il vient au bout de la chaîne lorsqu’il s’agit d’intéresser les sociétés à s’établir dans le canton. »…

La Suisse, îlot de prospérité ; le canton de Vaud en plein âge d’or. Quelles sont les recettes du succès ? Pour le Conseiller d’Etat Pascal Broulis, la formule tient en une conjonction de spécificités révélatrices : « Nous disposons dans la région d’un tissu de hautes écoles de grande qualité. De plus, le contexte législatif offre une stabilité à laquelle les entrepreneurs sont extrêmement sensibles. Dans ce contexte, la fiscalité est certes un élément à prendre en ligne de compte mais il vient au bout de la chaîne lorsqu’il s’agit d’intéresser les sociétés à s’établir dans le canton. »

Autre mot clé pour Pascal Broulis : l’ouverture. L’ouverture à un monde en mutation tout comme l’ouverture intra muros. « Pour alimenter sa compétitivité, la Suisse dispose de 26 « laboratoires » cantonaux, poursuit-il. Ce qui ne signifie en rien un repli sur les particularismes locaux, bien au contraire. En ce qui concerne l’Arc lémanique, nous sommes fortement engagés dans une dynamique régionale qui dépasse largement les frontières cantonales et qui permet, précisément, de mettre en exergue ce que chaque zone a de mieux à offrir. Alors oui, certaines fois, nous voyons des organisations ou des entreprises se délocaliser, parfois à quelques kilomètres, mais cela ne nuit en rien aux opportunités que nous sommes prêts à saisir et qui s’offrent à nous, même en temps de crise. Au-delà de ce constat, la Suisse se doit de rester ouverte. Je rappelle que, sur une population de 8 millions de personnes, 1,4 million d’Européens ont élu domicile en Suisse et que 200’000 frontaliers viennent y travailler quotidiennement. »

Sur la question de l’intégration européenne, Pascal Broulis reste fermement persuadé que la voie bilatérale adoptée par la Suisse est pour l’instant l’unique solution. « Il serait illusoire de penser que le peuple helvétique accepte une intégration pleine et entière dans une Europe en pleine construction où l’instabilité est notoire et les inégalités manifestes. Un seul exemple : le Luxembourg produit six fois les richesses de la Bulgarie. Il y a une vingtaine d’années, la question se posait différemment mais aujourd’hui, je ne vois pas de circonstances favorables à une telle évolution. Ce qui ne veut pas dire que la Suisse restera toujours en marge mais cela devra se faire de manière progressive. Cela dit, l’Union européenne comprend très bien la position de la Suisse. »

Petite et compétitive, la Suisse est restée relativement en marge de la crise financière qui a secoué la planète dès 2008. Pour Pascal Broulis, il s’agit certes là d’un modèle qui pourrait faire école. Mais un modèle qui ne doit pas rester seul et isolé. « L’inspiration doit aussi venir de l’extérieur, conclut-il. Suisse et globalisation ne sont de loin pas des termes antinomiques, notre commerce extérieur est là pour le souligner. »

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.