Speaker 2013

Rory SutherlandBehavioural economics specialist

Real value VS perceived value

Rory Sutherland labels himself the Wikiman, absorbing an endless stream of news, blog posts, essays, anecdotes, stories and experiences from countless sources and producing illuminating, unorthodox insights. One of marketing’s most original thinkers and influential speakers, Rory is the Vice
Chairman of Ogilvy Group in London. A champion of behavioural economics and an early adopter of new technologies, he was among the first in the traditional advertising world to see the potential of the Internet and related technologies. Rory is as outspoken as he is creative (and can be very funny, too). In his talk he will discuss the dichotomy between real value and perceived value in today’s brand-saturated world.

Report : Real value VS perceived value

A lively and humorous speaker, Rory Sutherland chose to look at the difference between perceived value and real value at the last Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie Forum. His opening gambit put it to the audience that “any model can one day turn out to be dangerous and that man is anything but a profoundly rational being.” He expressed regret that “economics has forgotten the vital contributions that other disciplines such as physics, chemistry, biology and psychology can make, taking its inspiration exclusively from mathematics. This oversight results in a reductive vision of what it is to be human that…

A lively and humorous speaker, Rory Sutherland chose to look at the difference between perceived value and real value at the last Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie Forum. His opening gambit put it to the audience that “any model can one day turn out to be dangerous and that man is anything but a profoundly rational being.” He expressed regret that “economics has forgotten the vital contributions that other disciplines such as physics, chemistry, biology and psychology can make, taking its inspiration exclusively from mathematics. This oversight results in a reductive vision of what it is to be human that could be redressed through the use of digital media and behavioural data.”

To illustrate his thesis, Rory Sutherland initially observed that value is, in objective terms, equivalent to a certain buying power. But it’s more than that, too. “The value of the product is intrinsically linked to the status of its owner, which is itself highly relative. From an economic point of view, not to mention a humoristic one, doesn’t the old saying go that a rich man is one who earns more than his sister’s husband? Value therefore depends on context. And that’s where marketing comes into play.”

It is at this point that emotions enter the equation. In a constant state of flux, their significant impact on behaviours provides a quick and efficient gauge. But there are also other factors to consider: “A person is totally rational when they think,” Sutherland argues, “but laziness, for example, or fatigue, constantly influence their perception of the world around them, which means their choices don’t follow a predefined logic.”

What is needed here is an acute contextual observation, and Rory Sutherland to provide one, which he does with the example of the progress bar that appears when you download software. “In itself, it has no use whatsoever, but its merit lies in reassuring the user by showing them that something is happening. The context is that the person at the computer doesn’t have the feeling they’re wasting their time, when they can see before their eyes that a process is underway.”

Another example: “Why are people more willing to buy a shampoo with 50% extra free, rather than the standard bottle, which, at 30% cheaper, comes down to exactly the same thing? The reply is simple: they think they’re making a saving.” That people must be given the choice is a key point. For Rory Sutherland, there’s only one conclusion: “Not having options is unthinkable!”

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2013

Rory SutherlandSpécialiste de l’économie comportementale

Valeur réelle VS. valeur perçue

Rory Sutherland s’est autobaptisé « Wikiman » ou l’homme Wikipédia. Il absorbe continuellement un flot sans fin d’actualités, d’articles de blogs, d’essais, d’anecdotes, d’histoires et d’expériences, provenant d’un nombre incalculable de sources. Il en retire des observations inspirantes et anticonformistes. Vice-Président d’Ogilvy Group à Londres, Rory est l’un des penseurs et conférenciers en marketing les plus originaux. Expert en économie comportementale, il a très tôt adopté les nouvelles technologies. Dans le monde de la publicité traditionnelle, il a été parmi les premiers à appréhender le potentiel d’Internet et des technologies apparentées. En conférence, Rory parle sans détours, à la mesure de sa créativité, parfois avec beaucoup d’humour. Dans son exposé, il débattra de la dichotomie entre la valeur réelle et celle perçue, dans un monde saturé de marques.

Compte rendu : Valeur réelle VS. valeur perçue

Vif et drôle, Rory Sutherland avait choisi de traiter de la différence entre valeur perçue et valeur réelle lors du dernier Forum de la Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie. Il a donc débuté sa conférence en constatant que « les modèles peuvent tous un jour s’avérer dangereux et que l’homme est tout sauf un être profondément rationnel. » L’orateur a ainsi regretté que « les sciences économiques aient oublié l’apport essentiel d’autres disciplines comme la physique, la chimie, la biologie et la psychologie pour s’inspirer uniquement des mathématiques. Cet oubli livre donc une vision réductrice de l’humain que le recours…

Vif et drôle, Rory Sutherland avait choisi de traiter de la différence entre valeur perçue et valeur réelle lors du dernier Forum de la Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie. Il a donc débuté sa conférence en constatant que « les modèles peuvent tous un jour s’avérer dangereux et que l’homme est tout sauf un être profondément rationnel. » L’orateur a ainsi regretté que « les sciences économiques aient oublié l’apport essentiel d’autres disciplines comme la physique, la chimie, la biologie et la psychologie pour s’inspirer uniquement des mathématiques. Cet oubli livre donc une vision réductrice de l’humain que le recours aux médias digitaux et aux données comportementales pourrait corriger. »

Pour illustrer son propos, Rory Sutherland constate d’abord que la valeur équivaut objectivement à une certaine puissance d’achat. Mais pas seulement. « La valeur d’un produit est aussi intrinsèquement liée au statut de son propriétaire, lui-même fort relatif. Dans une perspective économique, voire humoriste, le dicton ne dit-il pas qu’un homme riche est celui qui gagne plus que le mari de sa sœur ? La valeur dépend donc d’un contexte. Et c’est là que le marketing entre en jeu. »

Ici, interviennent les émotions, qui varient continuellement, non sans impact sur les comportements, indicateur rapide et efficace. D’autres facteurs entrent toutefois en ligne de compte : « l’homme est pleinement rationnel lorsqu’il pense, argue-t-il. Mais la paresse ou la fatigue, par exemple, influencent perpétuellement sa perception du monde. Ses choix ne suivent donc pas une logique prédéfinie. »

Une observation fine du contexte est alors nécessaire. Et Rory Sutherland de donner l’exemple de la barre d’indication de téléchargement des logiciels informatiques. « En soi, elles ne servent à rien mais elles ont le mérite de réconforter l’utilisateur en montrant que la tâche est en progression. Le contexte est que l’homme devant son ordinateur n’a pas le sentiment de perdre son temps et voit en direct qu’un processus est en cours. »

Autres paradigmes. « Pourquoi les gens achètent-ils plus volontiers un shampoing où 50% est offert en sus plutôt que le flacon original mais 30% moins cher, ce qui revient exactement au même ? La réponse est simple : ils ont l’impression d’y gagner. » Un point essentiel : il faut donner le choix aux gens. Pour Rory Sutherland, la conclusion s’impose : « il est impensable de ne pas avoir d’options ! ».

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.