Speaker 2015

Tim HarfordAuthor and weekly columnist for the Financial Times

How to see into the future

British writer Tim Harford reveals the economic ideas behind everyday experiences or, conversely, wonders whether cute ideas in theory do work in practice. In the “Undercover Economist” column he writes every Saturday for the Financial Times, he looks at familiar situations in unfamiliar ways and uses them to explain the fundamental principles of the modern economy. He also presents the BBC radio series More or Less, a broadcast programme devoted, as he says, to “the powerful, sometimes beautiful, often abused but ever ubiquitous world of numbers.” His new book, The Magic of Mess, about improvisation and innovation will be published in early 2016.

Keynote Speech on Video

“There are indeed […] reliable superforecasters.” Their common characteristic ? “A certain open-mindedness applied to an active mode of thought”.

Report : How to see into the future

When Tim Harford looks to the future, he does so first and foremost by examining the lessons we can draw from the past. Like those we can learn from the respective careers of Irving Fisher and John Maynard Keynes. The two economists developed forecast theories which, if properly implemented, were expected to earn them handsome profits as investors. However, neither of them had foreseen the Great Depression and its devastating effects on their stock portfolios. And yet while the former died disgraced and almost destitute, the second is considered one of the most influential economists of the 20th century. For…

When Tim Harford looks to the future, he does so first and foremost by examining the lessons we can draw from the past. Like those we can learn from the respective careers of Irving Fisher and John Maynard Keynes. The two economists developed forecast theories which, if properly implemented, were expected to earn them handsome profits as investors. However, neither of them had foreseen the Great Depression and its devastating effects on their stock portfolios. And yet while the former died disgraced and almost destitute, the second is considered one of the most influential economists of the 20th century. For Tim Harford, the difference lies in the fact that “Keynes was open-minded enough to analyze his mistakes, to question his approach and to change his mind when necessary.” The moral of the story is that forecasts must necessarily be nurtured by doubts and by confrontation with other ideas.

When Tim Harford starts to talk about the future and how to see into it properly, he begins by citing his two ‘favorite’ economists: Irving Fischer and John Maynard Keynes. “Both of them share the fact of having developed theories designed to help them make money as investors”, said Tim Harford at the 7th Forum de la Haute Horlogerie held on November 18th in Lausanne. “Irving Fischer, whose research notably dealt with inflation and who had unshakable faith in the stock market, was universally admired and his analyses were in great demand among the entire financial community. As for John Maynard Keynes, it was as an insider that he set up an investment fund based on currency exchanges before taking over that of Cambridge, whose modus operandi was grounded on his economic cycle forecasts. So these were two renowned economists who, back in their day around a century ago, proved to be savvy investors. However, neither of them foresaw the 1929 stock market crash and the ensuring Great Depression, which led to colossal losses for their respective portfolios.”

Based on this historical observation, Tim Harford wondered what value forecasting the future might have. To find out, he studied the work of sociologist Philip Tetlock, whose last book released last September is tellingly titled Superforecasting: The Art and Science of Prediction. “In 2005, Philip Tetlock had already laid out the conclusions of a first survey on forecasts, which had lasted around a decade”, said Tim Harford. “And the least that can be said is that the results were scarcely encouraging. In other words, if you want to get reliable forecasts regarding a complex problem, you might as well go to a zoo and ask the first chimpanzee you meet. Forecasts are like crisps: everyone loves them but they’re not necessarily good for our bodies.”

Putting faith in forecasts

Philip Tetlock had nonetheless not entirely given up hope and he therefore decided to address the theme again and conduct a new more broad-based study. This, the results were more promising: there are indeed certain people capable of making good forecasts on complex subjects: reliable superforecasters. “So what sets them apart?” asked Tim Harford. “Their studies, their experience, their gender, the fact that they are left-handed rather than right-handed? Obviously, none of the above, but instead a psychological attitude involving a certain open-mindedness applied to an active mode of thought. These people are prepared to change their minds; they seek to confront their ideas with others, to be challenged. And if you put them together, it turns out that their forecasts are even better. Not perfect, which is impossible, but better.”

Tim Harford went on to deal the decisive blow by coming back to his two economists. “Irving Fischer, who held fast to his certainties based on scientific rationality, ended up ruined and disgraced. Almost no one remembers him except for anything other than the fact that, shortly before the 1929 crash, he had claimed that the stock markets had reached a “permanently high plateau”. John Maynard Keynes, on the other hand, was willing to admit that he’d been mistaken and that his models didn’t work. He was not afraid to change his mind and his approach to the markets. Within a short time, he had rebuilt the fund he was managing. His life continued in relative opulence. And he is now regarded one of the most eminent 20th century economists.” QED.

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2015

Tim HarfordAuteur et éditorialiste du Financial Times

Comment anticiper l'avenir

L’écrivain britannique Tim Harford révèle volontiers les aspects économiques cachés dans les expériences quotidiennes, non sans se demander si les bonnes idées en théorie fonctionnent dans la pratique. Dans sa chronique « L’économiste sous couverture », qui paraît tous les samedis dans le Financial Times, il scrute les situations courantes d’un oeil non conventionnel afin d’expliquer les principes fondamentaux de l’économie moderne. À la BBC, il présente également la série radiophonique « Plus ou moins », un programme dédié, comme il le dit lui-même, « à l’univers des nombres, un univers puissant, parfois beau, souvent malmené, mais toujours omniprésent ». Son nouveau livre, The Magic of Mess (La Magie du désordre), qui traite d’improvisation et d’innovation, sera publié début 2016.

Conférence en vidéo

« Il existe bel et bien […] des super-prévisionnistes fiables. » Leur point commun ? « Une ouverture d’esprit appliquée à un mode de pensée actif ».

Compte rendu : Comment anticiper l'avenir

Lorsque Tim Harford se projette dans l’avenir, c’est d’abord en examinant les leçons du passé. Comme celles que peuvent nous apprendre les trajectoires d’Irving Fischer et de John Maynard Keynes. Ces deux économistes ont élaboré des théories prospectives qui, si bien appliquées, devaient leur permettre de gagner de l’argent en tant qu’investisseurs. Aucun des deux n’a toutefois anticipé la Grande dépression et ses effets dévastateurs sur leurs portefeuilles de titres. Et pourtant, si le premier est mort pauvre et honni, le second est considéré comme l’un des économistes les plus marquants du 20e siècle. La différence selon Tim Harford, «…

Lorsque Tim Harford se projette dans l’avenir, c’est d’abord en examinant les leçons du passé. Comme celles que peuvent nous apprendre les trajectoires d’Irving Fischer et de John Maynard Keynes. Ces deux économistes ont élaboré des théories prospectives qui, si bien appliquées, devaient leur permettre de gagner de l’argent en tant qu’investisseurs. Aucun des deux n’a toutefois anticipé la Grande dépression et ses effets dévastateurs sur leurs portefeuilles de titres. Et pourtant, si le premier est mort pauvre et honni, le second est considéré comme l’un des économistes les plus marquants du 20e siècle. La différence selon Tim Harford, « Keynes a fait preuve de suffisamment d’ouverture d’esprit pour analyser ses erreurs, se remettre en question et changer d’avis lorsque ce fut nécessaire. » Moralité : pour avoir du sens, les projections dans le futur doivent nécessairement se nourrir de doutes et de confrontations.

Quand Tim Harford en vient à parler d’avenir et expliquer comment l’anticiper de manière adéquate, il cite d’emblée ses deux économistes préférés : Irving Fischer et John Maynard Keynes. « Tous deux ont en commun d’avoir élaboré des théories censées leur permettre de faire de l’argent en tant qu’investisseurs, expliquait Tim Harford lors du 7e Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, qui s’est déroulé le 18 novembre à Lausanne. Irving Fischer, dont les recherches ont notamment porté sur l’inflation et qui faisait preuve d’une confiance inébranlable dans les actions cotées en Bourse, était admiré de partout et ses analyses recherchées par l’ensemble de la communauté financière. Quant à John Maynard Keynes, c’est en insider qu’il a d’abord monté un fonds d’investissement basé sur les changes pour ensuite prendre en charge celui de Cambridge, dont le modus operandi répondait à ses prévisions des cycles économiques. Nous avons donc deux économistes renommés qui, à leur époque, il y a près d’un siècle, se sont montrés de fins investisseurs. Seulement ni l’un ni l’autre n’a vu venir le krach de 1929 et la Grande Dépression qui a suivi, synonyme pour les deux de pertes abyssales dans leurs portefeuilles. »

Sur la base de ce constat historique, Tim Harford se demandait quelle valeur pouvaient donc avoir les prédictions faites sur l’avenir. Et pour ce faire, il s’est penché sur les travaux du sociologue Philip Tetlock, dont le dernier opus sorti en septembre dernier a précisément pour titre « Superforcasting: The Art and Science of Prediction ». « En 2005, Philip Tetlock avait déjà fait état des conclusions d’une première enquête sur les prédictions, enquête qui avait bien duré une dizaine d’années, commentait Tim Harford. Et le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que ses résultats n’étaient guère encourageants. En d’autres termes, si l’on veut avoir des prédictions fiables sur un problème complexe, autant aller au zoo et faire la demande au premier chimpanzé venu. Les prédictions sont comme les chips : tout le monde les aime, mais elles ne sont pas forcément bonnes pour notre organisme. ».

Foi dans les prédictions

Philip Tetlock n’avait toutefois pas complètement perdu la foi. Il va donc reprendre la thématique pour mener une nouvelle étude sur une base plus large. Et cette fois, les résultats sont au rendez-vous : il existe bel et bien des personnes à même de faire de bonnes prédictions sur des sujets compliqués, des super-prévisionnistes fiables. « Mais qu’est-ce qui peut donc bien les distinguer ? poursuivait Tim Harford. Leurs études, leurs expériences, leur sexe, le fait qu’ils soient gauchers plutôt que droitiers ? Rien de tout cela évidemment, mais bien plutôt une attitude psychologique qui s’apparente à une ouverture d’esprit appliquée à un mode de pensée actif. Ces personnes n’hésitent ainsi pas à changer d’avis, à chercher la confrontation, à se remettre en question. Et si on les met ensemble, il s’avère que leurs prédictions sont encore meilleures. Non pas parfaites, ce qui est impossible, mais meilleures. »

Et Tim Harford de porter l’estocade en revenant à ses deux économistes. « Irving Fischer, qui s’est cramponné à ses certitudes basées sur une rationalité scientifique, s’est retrouvé ruiné et honni. Pratiquement personne ne se souvient de lui sauf pour le fait que peu avant le krach boursier de 1929 il avait affirmé que les Bourses avaient atteint un “niveau haut stable”. John Maynard Keynes, en revanche, a volontiers admis qu’il s’était trompé et que ses modèles ne fonctionnaient pas. Il n’a pas eu peur de changer d’avis et d’approche des marchés. En peu de temps, il a reconstitué la fortune du fonds. Sa vie s’est déroulée dans une relative opulence. Et il est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des plus éminents économistes du XXe siècle. » CQFD.

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.