Speaker 2013

Uli SiggArt collector and China expert

A new chinese leadership what should expect?

Swiss entrepreneur and diplomat Uli Sigg has assembled the most comprehensive collection of contemporary Chinese art worldwide. He began his collection in the 1990s and will donate a large part of it (almost 1,500 works) to the Museum of Visual Culture of Hong Kong. He first travelled to China in 1979 on behalf of Swiss firm Schindler to establish the first joint-venture between China and a foreign company. In the second half of the 1990s he was Swiss ambassador to China, North Korea and Mongolia. He is Vice Chairman of Ringier and a Member of the Advisory Boards of the China Development Bank, of the International Council of MoMA (NY), and of the International Advisory Council of the Tate Gallery (London).

Report : A new chinese leadership what should expect?

The M+ museum of contemporary art and visual culture in Hong Kong, currently under construction, is getting ready to inherit 1,463 works from Uli Sigg’s private collection. From 2017 onwards, the 40 million Chinese citizens who come to the special administrative region every year will have the opportunity to discover an aspect of their modern history through works produced by home-grown artists since the 1970s. A guest speaker at the last Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, Uli Sigg shared his thoughts about the evolution of the Chinese artistic scene and some of the issues that matter in China today. The…

The M+ museum of contemporary art and visual culture in Hong Kong, currently under construction, is getting ready to inherit 1,463 works from Uli Sigg’s private collection. From 2017 onwards, the 40 million Chinese citizens who come to the special administrative region every year will have the opportunity to discover an aspect of their modern history through works produced by home-grown artists since the 1970s. A guest speaker at the last Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, Uli Sigg shared his thoughts about the evolution of the Chinese artistic scene and some of the issues that matter in China today.

The story of Uli Sigg and modern art describes a great love affair. Once settled in the ‘Middle Kingdom’, he pursued his interests as a collector, amassing works by local artists. ‘I was convinced that art would open up another way for me to understand and experience Chinese reality,’ he explained. ‘When I arrived, at the end of the 1990s, art reflected a political resistance against the regime. Artists worked with concepts that came from abroad, making them their own. The government’s demonstrations of force, notably in Tiananmen Square in 1989, had the effect of sending this form of protest underground. Today, art does not have the same role. Artists seem to have adopted a more formal attitude to their approach, in line with the market. At the same time, they have reclaimed themes that originate from their own traditions. There has been a resurgence of interest in Chinese culture from the past.’

More generally, Uli Sigg notes that China is obeying the laws of the market to a greater degree these days. The private sector is better represented within the one ruling party. Not that this should inspire much hope, however, in the sense that he who profits from the system is not going to be inclined to change the rules. A move towards greater democracy is not, therefore, on the agenda. ‘For the moment, there is no alternative to the party. The only chink of light comes from the regional elections where we’re finally seeing debate among members of the same party vying for first place. But according to the new government’s priorities, the question of democracy is not a matter of current concern and won’t be for the next 10 years.’

Recent initiatives taken by the new Premier Li Keqiang to combat corruption will also need time to become properly effective. Transition periods in China tend be a lengthy process. In other words, as Uli Sigg points out, democratisation, which is far from being a priority for the country’s current government, remains a utopian alternative.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2013

Uli SiggCollectionneur d’art, expert de la Chine

Un nouveau leadership chinois : que faut-il en attendre ?

L’entrepreneur et diplomate suisse Uli Sigg a réuni la collection d’art contemporain chinois la plus complète au monde – une collection qu’il a commencée dans les années 1990, et dont il donnera une bonne partie (près de 1500 oeuvres) au musée de la Culture visuelle de Hong Kong. Il a voyagé en Chine pour la première fois en 1979 afin d’établir la première joint-venture entre la Chine et une entreprise étrangère, au nom de la société suisse Schindler. Au cours de la seconde moitié des années 1990, il était ambassadeur de Suisse en Chine, Corée du Nord et Mongolie. Il est vice-président de Ringier, membre des Conseils consultatifs de la China Development Bank et du Conseil international du MoMA (New York) ainsi que du Comité consultatif international de la Tate Gallery (Londres).

Compte rendu : Un nouveau leadership chinois : que faut-il en attendre ?

Actuellement en construction, le musée d’art contemporain et de culture visuelle de Hong Kong M+ s’apprête à hériter de 1463 œuvres de la collection privée d’Uli Sigg. Ainsi, dès 2017, les 40 millions de Chinois qui se rendent annuellement dans la région administrative spéciale chinoise auront l’occasion de découvrir une facette de leur histoire moderne à travers les créations de leurs propres artistes depuis les années 1970. Convié au dernier Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, Uli Sigg s’est exprimé sur l’évolution de la scène artistique chinoise et sur quelques questions d’actualité. Uli Sigg et l’art moderne relèvent d’une grande histoire…

Actuellement en construction, le musée d’art contemporain et de culture visuelle de Hong Kong M+ s’apprête à hériter de 1463 œuvres de la collection privée d’Uli Sigg. Ainsi, dès 2017, les 40 millions de Chinois qui se rendent annuellement dans la région administrative spéciale chinoise auront l’occasion de découvrir une facette de leur histoire moderne à travers les créations de leurs propres artistes depuis les années 1970. Convié au dernier Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, Uli Sigg s’est exprimé sur l’évolution de la scène artistique chinoise et sur quelques questions d’actualité.

Uli Sigg et l’art moderne relèvent d’une grande histoire d’amour. Une fois installé dans l’Empire du milieu, il poursuit sa démarche de collectionneur en accumulant des œuvres d’artistes locaux. « J’avais la conviction que l’art m’ouvrirait un autre accès à la réalité chinoise, explique-t-il. Quand je suis arrivé, à la fin des années 1990, l’art reflétait une résistance politique face au régime. Les artistes travaillaient sur des concepts venus de l’étranger qu’ils s’appropriaient. Les démonstrations de force du gouvernement, notamment à la place Tiananmen en 1989, a eu pour effet de rendre cette contestation souterraine. Aujourd’hui, la production artistique ne joue plus le même rôle. Les artistes semblent avoir adopté une attitude plus formelle dans leur démarche, en fonction des données du marché. En parallèle, ils se sont réapproprié des thèmes issus de leur propre tradition. L’intérêt pour la culture chinoise du passé renaît ».

Plus globalement, Uli Sigg constate que la Chine d’aujourd’hui obéit davantage aux lois du marché. Le secteur privé est mieux représenté au sein du parti unique. Un phénomène qui ne doit toutefois pas nourrir trop d’espoir dans la mesure où qui profite du système n’a pas tendance à en changer les règles. L’évolution vers plus de démocratie n’est donc pas à l’ordre du jour. « Pour l’instant, il n’y a aucune alternative au parti. Seule ouverture, les élections régionales où l’on voit enfin un débat entre membres d’un même parti se disputer la première place. En d’autres termes, la question démocratique n’est pas d’actualité pour les dix ans à venir, selon les priorités du nouveau gouvernement ».

Les récentes initiatives prises par le nouveau Premier ministre Li Keqiang pour lutter contre la corruption nécessiteront, elles aussi, du temps avant d’être réellement efficaces. En Chine, les périodes de transitions tendent à durer longtemps. En d’autres termes, comme le relève Uli Sigg, la démocratisation n’est de loin pas une priorité du gouvernement actuel dans le pays. Elle reste une alternative qui relève de l’utopie.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.