Speaker 2015

Yves MorieuxDirector, Boston Consulting Group Institute for Organization.

Managing complexity without getting complicated

Yves Morieux has advice for corporate executives: “The real battle is not competitors. When do we meet competitors to fight them? The real battle is against ourselves, our bureaucracy, our complicatedness.” The director of the Boston Consulting Group’s Institute for Organization, he has set out to simplify businesses, pioneering new ways of organizational thinking through the concept of Smart Simplicity. Using six key rules, it encourages employees to cooperate in order to solve long-term problems. It isn’t just about reducing costs and increasing profit – it’s about maximizing engagement through all levels of a company.

Keynote Speech on Video

“The real battle is not against the competition”, he says. “It’s against ourselves, our bureaucracy, our complexity”.

Report : Managing complexity without getting complicated

Why is corporate productivity so disappointing and why is their so little engagement in the work on the part of personnel? Yves Morieux has attempted to solve these “enigmas” and to provide a tangible solution via his Smart Simplicity concept. Corporate executives tend to mistake the target: “the real battle is not against the competition”, he says. “It’s against ourselves, our bureaucracy, our complexity.” The basic principles involve starting by seeking to grasp what employees are actually doing within the company and encouraging reciprocity as well as cooperation. One should not necessarily be blamed for failure as such, but rather…

Why is corporate productivity so disappointing and why is their so little engagement in the work on the part of personnel? Yves Morieux has attempted to solve these “enigmas” and to provide a tangible solution via his Smart Simplicity concept. Corporate executives tend to mistake the target: “the real battle is not against the competition”, he says. “It’s against ourselves, our bureaucracy, our complexity.” The basic principles involve starting by seeking to grasp what employees are actually doing within the company and encouraging reciprocity as well as cooperation. One should not necessarily be blamed for failure as such, but rather for the mistake of failing to ask for help. The central question is therefore not just about reducing costs and increasing profits, but about maximizing engagement through all levels of a company.”

“The real battle is not that against the competition, but against our ourselves, our bureaucracy, our complexity”. Director of the Boston Consulting Group Institute for Organization, Yves Morieux has led his teams in studying two major trends in the western working world: the productivity crisis and the work crisis. And he has come up with some useful lessons based on the concept of “smart simplicity” that he outlined during the 7th Forum de la Haute Horlogerie held in mid-November in Lausanne.

Complexity met by extreme complexity

Their findings do indeed raise several questions relating to a widespread crisis of productivity. The latter is sliding virtually everywhere, if not already at a total standstill for several years as in Germany, the “model nation” of the Euro zone, or in the United Kingdom since 2006. Within this context, it’s better not to even mention the figures for France, Italy and Greece. In a nutshell, despite major innovations and breakthroughs, notably in the fields of IT, telecommunications and the Internet, our companies are not managing to convert these into productivity gains. “So where is the potential vanishing?” questions the researcher, while also noting another worrying phenomenon: the disengagement of employees. In Europe, only 11 to 23% of them feel “engaged” in their work. This reality bites well beyond Europe (21% in Australia, 23% in Japan) and is steadily deteriorating year after year. Witness the degree of job satisfaction among American employees, which dropped from 61% in 1987 to less than 43% in 2010. And the relentless downturn continues…

By getting his teams to work on two distinct realities, Yves Morieux reached the astonishing conclusion that the two issues stem from the same cause: the way in which companies have been organized over the past 30 to 40 years. While the world has changed and become more complex, companies have responded by extreme complexity in all their processes. In addition, the days when there were some that focused on costs and others on quality are long gone: today there is no question of not factoring both into the equation. “According to our analyses”, Yves Morieux explained, “teams spend 60 to 80% of their time… wasting their time! There is more and more work involved in organizing work and less and less time spent actually doing it. That is where productivity is being squandered. And that is why people are becoming disengaged – which is entirely normal in systems so little suited to current realities.”

Cooperation is not natural

Faced with greater complexity, the question is therefore about being capable of building an organization that best leverages intelligence. This notably implies building on the three pillars of leadership, engagement and cooperation. Summing up 50 years of theories on leadership, one can safely state that the role of management is to make employees do what they would not spontaneously do – a role that calls for competence, the right information and the power to circulate it. As far as engagement is concerned, it is essential to stimulate employees’ intelligence and judgment in order to enable them to go beyond merely following to the letter the rules that have been established. Meanwhile, cooperation plays a major role, as Yves Morieux insisted: “Good cooperation means that the whole is worth more than the sum of its parts. This is not poetry; it’s maths. Cooperation multiples intelligence at work, multiplies energy in action. And when we don’t cooperate as much as we should, we simply arrive too late.”

Beware nonetheless preconceived ideas such as the one which holds that the less we get on with each other, the less we will cooperate. Cooperation has nothing to do with getting on smoothly. It can even generate friction and conflict. “When we cooperate, we degrade measurable performance”, explained Yves Morieux. “And if we confine ourselves to measurable criteria, employees will devote their energy only to what can be measured. Within such a context, cooperation does not represent an excessive effort, but instead more prosaically consists of answering this question: how can we allocate our efforts to what is measurable and to that which benefits the overall result? When I cooperate I take a risk: I sacrifice the ultimate protection of my measurable performance on behalf of that of the others with whom I will be compared. Under these conditions, one would have to be stupid to cooperate! And people are not stupid, so they do not naturally cooperate.” All of which implies that management is also a matter of dexterity.

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2015

Yves MorieuxDirecteur de l’Institut pour l’organisation du Boston Consulting Group

Gérer la complexité sans complication

Yves Morieux dispose d’un conseil à l’intention des dirigeants d’entreprise : « La vraie bataille n’est pas celle à mener contre la concurrence. Quand rencontrons-nous des concurrents pour les combattre ? La vraie bataille est contre nous-même, notre bureaucratie, notre complexité. » En tant que directeur de l’Institut pour l’organisation du Boston Consulting Group, il a entrepris de faciliter les affaires en lançant de nouvelles manières de penser l’organisation via le concept de la « simplicité intelligente ». À l’aide de six règles de base, il encourage les employés à collaborer pour résoudre les problèmes à long terme. La question n’est pas tellement de réduire les coûts et d’augmenter les profits mais plutôt de maximiser l’engagement à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise.

Conférence en vidéo

« La vraie bataille n’est pas contre les concurrents, explique-t-il. Elle est contre nous-mêmes, contre notre bureaucratie, notre complexité ».

Compte rendu : Gérer la complexité sans complication

Pourquoi la productivité dans les entreprises est-elle si décevante et pourquoi y a-t-il si peu d’implication au travail de la part des collaborateurs. Ces deux « énigmes », Yves Morieux a tenté de les élucider et d’y apporter une solution tangible via son concept de « simplicité intelligente ». Les chefs d’entreprise se trompent de cible : « la vraie bataille n’est pas contre les concurrents, explique-t-il. Elle est contre nous-mêmes, contre notre bureaucratie, notre complexité ». Parmi les préceptes de base, il s’agit d’abord de comprendre ce que les employés font vraiment dans l’entreprise et d’encourager la réciprocité, la…

Pourquoi la productivité dans les entreprises est-elle si décevante et pourquoi y a-t-il si peu d’implication au travail de la part des collaborateurs. Ces deux « énigmes », Yves Morieux a tenté de les élucider et d’y apporter une solution tangible via son concept de « simplicité intelligente ». Les chefs d’entreprise se trompent de cible : « la vraie bataille n’est pas contre les concurrents, explique-t-il. Elle est contre nous-mêmes, contre notre bureaucratie, notre complexité ». Parmi les préceptes de base, il s’agit d’abord de comprendre ce que les employés font vraiment dans l’entreprise et d’encourager la réciprocité, la coopération. Ce n’est pas tant l’échec qui est à blâmer que l’erreur de ne pas avoir demandé de l’aide. La question centrale n’est ainsi plus de réduire les coûts pour augmenter les profits mais plutôt de maximiser l’engagement à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise.

« La vraie bataille n’est pas celle à mener contre les concurrents, mais bien celle à livrer contre nous-mêmes, contre notre bureaucratie, contre notre complexité. » Directeur de l’Institut pour l’organisation du Boston Consulting Group, Yves Morieux s’est intéressé avec ses équipes à deux tendances de fond dans le monde du travail occidental : la crise de la productivité et la crise du travail. Et il en a tiré quelques enseignements via le concept de « simplicité intelligente » exposé lors du 7e Forum de la Haute Horlogerie, tenu mi-novembre à Lausanne.

À complexité, complexité extrême

Le tableau dressé pose effectivement quelques questions avec une crise généralisée de la productivité. Elle est ainsi en baisse pratiquement partout, quand elle n’est pas nulle depuis quelques années en Allemagne, le bon élève de la zone euro, ou en Grande-Bretagne depuis 2006. Dans ce contexte, autant ne pas chiffrer les résultats de la France, de l’Italie ou de la Grèce. Bref, en dépit d’innovations et d’avancées majeures dans les domaines informatiques, des télécommunications et de l’Internet notamment, nos sociétés ne parviennent pas à les convertir en gains de productivité. « Où passe donc ce potentiel ? » se demande le chercheur. Et de relever un autre phénomène inquiétant : le désengagement des employés. En Europe, seuls 11 à 23 % des salariés se sentent « engagés » dans leur travail. Une réalité qui n’est d’ailleurs pas qu’européenne (21 % en Australie, 23 % au Japon) et qui se dégrade tous les ans. Pour preuve, la satisfaction au travail des salariés américains est passée de 61 % en 1987 à moins de 43 % en 2010. Et la courbe ne cesse de descendre…

En faisant travailler ses équipes sur ces deux réalités distinctes, Yves Morieux en est arrivé à la conclusion étonnante que les deux problématiques ont la même cause : la manière dont les entreprises se sont organisées ces 30 à 40 dernières années. Si le monde a changé et s’est complexifié, les entreprises y ont répondu par une complication extrême de tous leurs processus. Au surplus, fini le temps où elles se différenciaient en misant soit sur les coûts, soit sur la qualité, il est aujourd’hui hors de question de ne pas intégrer les deux. « D’après nos analyses, expliquait Yves Morieux, les équipes passent 60 à 80 % de leur temps à… perdre leur temps ! Il y a de plus en plus de travail pour organiser le travail et de moins en moins de travail effectif. Voilà où se perd la productivité. Et voilà pourquoi les gens se désengagent. Ce qui est d’ailleurs tout à fait normal dans des systèmes si peu adaptés aux réalités actuelles. ».

La coopération n’est pas naturelle

Face à plus de complexité, la question est donc de savoir comment construire une organisation qui tire mieux parti de l’intelligence. Cela passe notamment par les trois piliers que sont le leadership, l’engagement et la coopération. En résumant 50 ans de théories sur le leadership, on peut avancer que le rôle du management est de faire faire aux collaborateurs ce qu’ils ne feraient pas spontanément. Un rôle qui demande des compétences, les bonnes informations et le pouvoir nécessaires pour les faire circuler. Pour ce qui est de l’engagement, il est essentiel de stimuler l’intelligence et le jugement des collaborateurs leur permettant d’aller au-delà du simple suivi à la lettre des règles édictées. Le rôle de la coopération, enfin, est majeur. « Grâce à une bonne coopération, le tout vaut plus que la somme des parties, insistait Yves Morieux. Ce n’est pas de la poésie, ce sont des maths. La coopération multiplie l’intelligence au travail, multiplie l’énergie dans l’action. Et lorsqu’on ne coopère pas autant qu’on le devrait, on arrive simplement trop tard. »

Mais attention aux idées reçues : mieux on s’entend et moins on va coopérer. Car la coopération n’a rien à voir avec la bonne entente. Elle peut tout aussi bien engendrer frictions et conflits. « Lorsqu’on coopère, on dégrade sa performance mesurable, détaillait Yves Morieux. Et si l’on s’en tient aux critères mesurables, les collaborateurs mettront leur énergie uniquement dans ce qui peut l’être. Dans ce contexte, coopérer ne représente pas un effort démesuré mais consiste plus prosaïquement à répondre à cette question : comment allouer son effort entre ce qui est mesurable et ce qui bénéficie au résultat d’ensemble. Quand je coopère, je prends un risque : je sacrifie la protection ultime qu’est ma performance mesurable au profit de la performance des autres avec lesquels on va me comparer. Dans ces conditions, il faudrait être crétin pour coopérer ! Et les gens ne sont pas crétins, donc ils ne coopèrent pas naturellement. » Le management est aussi question de doigté.

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.